12th Edition 


The European and Ibero-American Academy of Yuste Foundation established the ‘Carlos V European Award’ in order to reward the work of people, organisations, projects, or initiatives which through their efforts and dedication have contributed to the general knowledge and enhancement of Europe’s cultural, social, scientific, and historical values, as well as to the process of European construction and integration, having awarded and delivered the eleventh edition in the year 2017.

The ‘Carlos V European Award’ is granted by the European Academy of Yuste Foundation’s Board of Trustees, at the proposal of a Jury appointed by the Foundation to that end.

Nominations must be submitted between the day following the publication of this call in the Official Journal of Extremadura (DOE) and the 15 February 2018, the postmark being valid proof of postage for nominations sent by registered mail.

It is noteworthy that this is the 12th edition of the “Charles V European Award”. It was previously given to Jacques Delors, Wilfried Martens, Felipe González, Mikhail Gorbachev, Jorge Sampaio, Helmut Kohl, Simone Veil, Javier Solana Madariaga, José Manuel Durão Barroso, Sofia Corradi and Marcelino Oreja Aguirre.