King Felipe VI will deliver the Carlos V European Award to Mario Draghi on 14th June at the Monastery of San Jerónimo de Yuste

Mario Draghi, president of the European Central Bank (2011-2019) and president of the Council of Ministers of the Republic of Italy (2021-2022), will receive the Carlos V European Award next Friday, June 14th, at 11 am at the Monastery of San Jerónimo de Yuste in a solemn ceremony that will be presided over by His Majesty King Felipe VI, honorary president of the European and Ibero-American Academy of Yuste Foundation. (08/06/2024).

Attendees at the award ceremony will include the vice president of the European Central Bank, Luis de Guindos; the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Josep Borrell; and the former prime minister of the Government of Spain, José María Aznar, among other dignitaries.

Also present will be around twenty diplomatic representatives from European and Ibero-American embassies such as Germany, Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Cyprus, Croatia, El Salvador, Slovenia, Finland, France, Italy, Lithuania, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Romania, and Ukraine, as well as the Spanish ambassador to Italy and the consul general of Portugal.

Other notable personalities accompanying the awardee include members of the European and Ibero-American Academy of Yuste: Ramón Jáuregui, Gustaff Janssens, Enrique Moradiellos, Monica Luisa Macovei, and Marcelino Oreja, who also received the Carlos V European Award in 2017.

The jury of the 17th edition of the Carlos V European Award decided to grant the award to the Italian economist “for his leadership at the helm of the European Central Bank, which allowed the European Union to face one of the greatest crises it has experienced since its inception. He implemented a series of decisive and risky measures that, amidst the recession in the European economy, maintained the strength of the euro and the autonomy of the ECB, while also saving the single currency, enabling Europe to emerge strengthened from this crisis. It is also worth highlighting his exemplary promotion of European ethical principles as central axes of economic governance, emphasising his extraordinary capacity, foresight, and dialogue in the service of a united Europe, as well as his attention to and support for youth as guarantors of Europe’s future, tasks that go beyond the strictly economic sphere”.

This is the third time that the Carlos V European Award is delivered to an Italian personality. In 2016, it was awarded to the Italian professor Sofia Corradi, better known as “Mamma Erasmus”, for initiating the Erasmus programme of the European Union and for her work in promoting academic mobility. In 2018, the award jury recognised the work of the president of the European Parliament, Antonio Tajani, “for his efforts in favour of a more competitive Europe that ensures an effective and sustainable strategic growth model”.

The ceremony for the 17th Carlos V European Award is held with the collaboration of Patrimonio Nacional and the Regional Government of Extremadura as well as with the institutional support of the European Parliament. It is, additionally, supported by Alimentos de Extremadura, Extremadura Avante, Iberdrola, Telefónica, and Canal Extremadura, which will broadcast the solemn event live via the internet and satellite.

The Carlos V European Award

With this award, Yuste Foundation aims to recognise the work of individuals, organisations, projects, or initiatives that have contributed to the general understanding and enhancement of Europe’s cultural, social, scientific, and historical values, as well as to the process of European construction and integration.

The laureates who have received this award to date are: Jacques Delors (1995); Wilfried Martens (1998); Felipe González (2000); Mikhail Gorbachev (2002); Jorge Sampaio (2004); Helmut Kohl (2006); Simone Veil (2008); Javier Solana (2011); José Manuel Durão Barroso (2014); Sofia Corradi (2016); Marcelino Oreja Aguirre (2017); Antonio Tajani (2018); the “Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe” project (2019); Angela Merkel (2021); the European Disability Forum (2022); and António Guterres (2023).

Carlos V European Award Research and Mobility Grants for European Studies

Yuste Foundation offers ten Research and Mobility Grants for European Studies with the Carlos V European Award. These grants are addressed to researchers from across Europe who are preparing a doctoral thesis in any discipline within the humanities and social sciences.

The Carlos V European Award grants focus on the history, memory, and European integration based on the topic chosen by the awardee each year and from a multidisciplinary perspective.

Selected researchers become part of Yuste’s Alumni Euro-Ibero-American Network, which aims to facilitate the exchange of projects and information among researchers specialising in European topics who have received one of the Carlos V European Award Grants.

Yuste’s Alumni Network is spread across major universities, institutions, and research centres worldwide. Currently, the network includes over a hundred researchers from various countries such as Germany, Belgium, Brazil, Cyprus, Cuba, Spain, France, Italy, Mexico, Peru, Portugal, the United Kingdom, and Russia.