Award 2023

The European and Ibero-American Academy of Yuste Foundation celebrated the award ceremony of the Carlos V European Award on 9 May 2023 at the Monastery of San Jerónimo of Yuste. It has been granted to Antonio Guterres, in this edition and the ceremony was presided over by His Majesty King Felipe VI.

In this 16th edition, the jury has decided to award the Carlos V European Award to H.E. Mr. António Guterres, Secretary-General of the United Nations, for his proven, extensive and long-standing life career devoted to social commitment, the process of European integration, the promotion of multilateralism and human dignity as the core of his work, addressing global challenges and crises. He has been a key figure in facing a period of unprecedented change and with terrible consequences for Europe and the world. With his tenacious work he has promoted actions to respond to the Covid-19 pandemic, to the war in Ukraine, to address the climate emergency and achieve ambitious reforms with which to face the challenges of the 21st century. Also noteworthy is his determination to fight against one of the greatest challenges facing Europe and humanity, climate change, promoting sustainable development and placing the 2030 Agenda as the global roadmap focused on people and the planet. All these merits and more that he has, in the opinion of the jury, make him a worthy winner of the Carlos V European Award in its 16th edition.

António Manuel de Oliveira Guterres (born in Lisbon on 30 April 1949) is a Portuguese politician, physics engineer and professor. Since 1 January 2017, he has been the current Secretary-General of the United Nations. On 18 June 2021 he was re-elected for a second five-year term, which officially began on 1 January 2022.

He previously served as Prime Minister of Portugal (1995-2002), he was appointed United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) on 15 June 2005, where he served until 15 December 2015, heading the organisation during some of the worst refugee crises in history, including Syria, Afghanistan and Iraq.