Felipe VI will deliver the Carlos V European Award to the European Disability Forum

His Majesty King Felipe VI, Honorary President of Yuste Foundation, will preside over the ceremony of the 15th Carlos V European Award, which is awarded by the European and Ibero-American Academy of Yuste Foundation on Wednesday, 11 May, at the Monastery of Yuste, at 12h. In this edition, the award has been granted to the European Disability Forum and its president, the Greek Yannis Vardakastanis, will be in charge of collecting it. (09/05/2022)

The ceremony will be attended by the president of the Congress of Deputies, Meritxell Batet; the president of the Supreme Court, Carlos Lesmes Serrano; the president of the Regional Government of Extremadura, Guillermo Fernández Vara, and the winner of the 2011 Carlos V European Award, Javier Solana.

Ambassadors from 11 European countries will also attend: Austria, Croatia, France, Estonia, the Netherlands, Portugal, Italy, Belgium, Slovenia, Cyprus and Finland; in addition to the members of the European and Ibero-American Academy of Yuste: Ramón Jáuregui, Enrique Moradiellos, Gustaff Janssens, Monica Luisa Macovei and Manuela Mendonça.

The jury of the 15th edition of the Carlos V European Award decided to grant the award to the European Disability Forum considering that with “its work, it promotes a more inclusive Europe and a more social, just and egalitarian Europe, and contributes to the process of European integration, to the values that the European Union defends and that all citizens can live together in this common space under conditions of equality and without suffering discrimination due to their social capacities”.

This is the second time that the Carlos V European Award is awarded to an organisation or project and not a person, where the previous case was that of the Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe in 2019.

The award ceremony of the 15th Carlos V European Award counts with the collaboration of National Heritage and the Regional Government of Extremadura and with the institutional support of the European Parliament. In addition, it counts with the support of Alimentos de Extremadura, Extremadura Avante, Iberdrola, Telefónica and Canal Extremadura, which will broadcast the solemn event live via satellite.

Carlos V European Award

With this award, Yuste Foundation attempts to recognise the work of individuals, organisations, projects or initiatives that have contributed to the general knowledge and enhancement of the cultural, social, scientific and historical values of Europe, as well as the process of European construction and integration.

So far, the winners of this award have been: Jacques Delors (1995); Wilfried Martens (1998); Felipe González (2000); Mikhail Gorbachev (2002); Jorge Sampaio (2004); Helmut Kohl (2006); Simone Veil (2008); Javier Solana (2011); José Manuel Durão Barroso (2014); Sofia Corradi (2016); Marcelino Oreja Aguirre (2017); Antonio Tajani (2018); the Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe project (2019), and Angela Merkel (2021).

Carlos V European Award Research and Mobility Grants on European Studies

Along with the Carlos V European Award, Yuste Foundation launches ten Research and Mobility Grants on European Studies for researchers from all over Europe who are working on a doctoral thesis in any discipline of the humanities and social sciences.

The Carlos V European Award grants deal with history, memory and European integration from the topic chosen by the winner in each edition and under a multidisciplinary perspective.

The chosen researchers join Yuste’s Euro-Ibero-American Alumni Network, which aims to enable the exchange of projects and information among researchers specialising in European issues who have been granted one of the Carlos V European Award Grants.

Yuste’s Alumnni Network is spread over the world’s leading universities, institutions and research centres. More than 100 researchers from different countries, such as Italy, Cyprus, the United Kingdom, Germany, Belgium, Spain, France, Russia, Portugal, Mexico, Peru, Cuba and Brazil, are currently part of the network.