Yuste Foundation Opens an Extraordinary Deadline for the Submission of Nominations for the 14th Edition of the Carlos V European Award

The European and Ibero-American Academy of Yuste Foundation has opened an extraordinary deadline to submit nominations for the 14th edition of the Carlos V European Award, which people, organisations, projects or initiatives that have contributed to the knowledge of European values and to the building process and integration of the old continent can apply to. The deadline is 15 February 2021.

In view of the exceptional circumstances caused by the health crisis brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic during 2020, which persist this year, and with the aim of maintaining the relevance of the Carlos V European Award by ensuring its level of quality and concurrence, Yuste Foundation has decided to open an extraordinary deadline for the submission of nominations for this award so that people or institutions that were not taken into account before the pandemic, but who have acquired sufficient merit during the year 2020 because of the pandemic, may be proposed as nominees.

The official deadline for submitting nominations for this 14th edition was set between 15 January and 15 February 2020, but due to the declaration of the state of alarm the process of selection of the award winner was cancelled as well as the ceremony of delivery of the Carlos V European Award, set on 9 May 2020 at the Royal Monastery of Yuste.

Information and forms for the submission of new nominations can be found at the following link:

Questions and queries can be made via email:

Carlos V European Award

The Carlos V European Award is endowed with 30,000 euros and will be awarded, if sanitary circumstances permit, at an event to be held around 9 May, Europe Day, at the Royal Monastery of Yuste. In addition to the award, ten grants will be awarded for students who are doing their doctoral thesis on a topic proposed by the award winner.

Yuste Foundation awarded the first Carlos V European Award to Jacques Delors in 1995 “taking into account his open and tolerant spirit and his support of a European model of society based on the defence of democratic values and human rights”.
The rest of the winners have been: Wilfried Martens (1998), Felipe González (2000), Mijail Gorbachov (2002), Jorge Sampaio (2004), Helmut Kohl (2006), Simone Veil (2008), Javier Solana (2011), José Manuel Durão Barroso (2014), Sofia Corradi (2016), Marcelino Oreja (2017), Antonio Tajani (2018) and the Cultural Itineraries of the Council of Europe (2019).


ico_pdf Extraordinary Deadline (DOE) 2021

ico_pdf Call

ico_pdf Official Nomination Form

ico_pdf Regulation